About Us

The prime motivation of our lab is to challenge the forefront of science and technology. We strive to pursue solid experimental work in addition to theoretical modeling. Our research focuses on the interaction of light with nanostructures that leads to exotic electromagnetic properties, which could be applied to the field of metamaterials, plasmonics, electronics, photonics, energy, acoustics, imaging, sensing and biology.

  • PNAS, Apr 2015
  • Nature Materials, Feb 2015
  • Physical Review Letters, Dec 2014
  • Nature Nanotechnology, Dec 2014
  • Scientific Reports, December 2014
  • Nature Nano, November 2014
  • Science, October 2014

Recent Publications

[265]Su-Hyun Gong, Je-Hyung Kim, Young-Ho Ko, Christophe Rodriguez, Jonghwa Shin, Yong-Hee Lee, Le Si Dang, Xiang Zhang, and Yong-Hoon Cho, "Self-aligned deterministic coupling of single quantum emitter to nanofocused plasmonic modes", PNAS, Early Edition.
[264]Aimin Wu, Hao Li, Junjie Du, Xingjie Ni, Ziliang Ye, Yuan Wang, Zhen Sheng, Shichang Zou, Fuwan Gan, Xiang Zhang, and Xi Wang, "Experimental Demonstration of In-Plane Negative-Angle Refraction with an Array of Silicon Nanoposts", Nano Letters, 15 (3).
[263]Kevin O’Brien, Haim Suchowski, Junsuk Rho, Alessandro Salandrino, Boubacar Kante, Xiaobo Yin & Xiang Zhang, "Predicting nonlinear properties of metamaterials from the linear response", Nature Materials, AOP.
[262]Pavel Kolchin, Nitipat Pholchai, Maiken H. Mikkelsen, Jinyong Oh, Sadao Ota, M. Saif Islam, Xiaobo Yin, and Xiang Zhang, "High Purcell Factor Due to Coupling of a Single Emitter to a Dielectric Slot Waveguide", Nano Letters, 15 (1).
[261]Hamidreza Ramezani, Hao-Kun Li, Yuan Wang, and Xiang Zhang, "Unidirectional Spectral Singularities", Physical Review Letters, 113, 263905.

More Publications

Lab News

Apr 2015: Zi Jing has won the Gold MRS Graduate Student Award and Sui has been awarded the Outstanding Overseas Student Award by the Chinese government.

Feb 2015: Our work in Nature Materials was featured in LBL News.

Jan 2015: Our alum Dr. Ziliang Ye was the recipient of the 2014 Kavli ENSI Thesis Prize.

Dec 2014: LBL News has highlighted our work on piezoelectricity in MoS2.

Nov 2014: Our optical metamaterial paper was featured in Science Daily and Phys.org and LBL news

Oct 2014: Our single mode laser was both covered by LBL news.

Oct 2014: Our work on Josephson travelling-wave parametric amplifiers was covered by Physics World.

Sep 2014: Our work on TMDC excitons was featured by LBL news.

Aug 2014: Our work on acoustic bottle beams was featured by LBL news.

July 2014: Our recent work in Nature Nano was featured by the UC Berkeley news center, Optics and Photonics News, Azosensors, Nanotechweb, and KTVU.